“The rule is to train, train and train some more. Train until the lamb becomes the lion”

Paulo Miyao

I’m going to write about Thursday night’s class. It was as follows:

SELF-DEFENCE:

  1. Throat Grab Defence “Armlock”

SIDE CONTROL ESCAPE:

  1. Kesa Getame Escape Upa and Roll
  2. Kesa Getame Escape Variation

I think that it’s safe to say that everyone will have a hated position, the one that pisses them off the most , and I’ve found mine. I’ve mentioned this position before on an earlier post; the dreaded Kesa Getame. Even looking at it written down here is making me angry. I can’t escape it. It’s fine when I’m practicing the escapes without resistance, but as soon as my training partner resists, I can’t get the technique to work. I was very frustrated on Thursday night when we were doing the escapes with resistance. None of them were working for me and, to top it off, I got a knee in the balls which is never fun at the best of times. Yes, it wasn’t the best night I’ve had at training. Now, I reckon I’ve got two options: run away from Kesa Getame and hope that I don’t get put in that position when I’m rolling, or face it head on and keep practicing it until I can do the escapes. I am going to choose the latter option.

IMG_4880

The above picture is the Post-it that I’ve stuck to my bedroom door, so it’s one of the first things that I see everyday, and I’ve stuck one on the cereal cupboard too for good measure. I will keep practicing Kesa Getame until I conquer it.

Keep training.

