“If you want to be a lion, you must train with lions.”

Carlson Gracie Sr.

Yesterday was my first time doing the advanced class. The class was as follows:

TAKEDOWN: Seoi-Nage

GROUND: Back Escapes

STANDING DEFENCES, STANDARD VARIATIONS

FREE ROLLING: 8 x 5 min rounds

I’m not going to lie, it was the hardest, most uncomfortable training that I’ve ever done, and that’s including the warm up. My body felt wrecked after it, but in a good way, and I’m in pain today. It was a great experience to train with the higher level guys and I definitely feel like I’ve learned some things from the class. Especially since everyone is extremely helpful, are willing to explain certain movements, and answer any questions. I was a bit nervous before starting, as I knew that I didn’t even know some of the movements in the warm up, and was relieved when I felt the good atmosphere. It seemed to me that not only is everyone trying to get better themselves, but that they are willing their teammates to get better as well.

The biggest challenge was the rolling and I had to sit out a couple of rounds because I was exhausted. This was probably down to being in some horribly uncomfortable positions. I wasn’t in bad positions all the time, as I was able to get some good positions when I rolled with guys of similar level. But having said that, I was mostly in uncomfortable positions. Yes, BJJ is hard. But, as our main instructor says, “the only easy thing in life, is the milk from your Mother’s breast.”

Keep training.

