“Jiu Jitsu is perfect. It’s humans who make errors.”

Rickson Gracie

Yesterday morning I had a double session, the same class twice back to back, and it was really good. I find it very beneficial to do the same class back to back, as it is easier to pick up the overall technique in the second class, and work on the smaller details. The class was as follows:

SELF DEFENCE:

  1. Throat Grab Defence “Armlock”

SIDE CONTROL ESCAPE:

  1. Kesa Gatame Escape Upa and Roll
  2. Kesa Gatame Escape Variation

I am not going to go into every aspect of the class, as I won’t be able to explain it very well from a technical standpoint. But, I would like to highlight one part of the class. After we had practiced the techniques a few times we did some specific training with a bit of resistance. So, the person on the bottom had to escape Kesa Gatame and get to side control. One of my training partners is a really strong guy and he had me in a tight Kesa Gatame. No matter how much I tried to escape, my technique was not good enough, and I could not budge him. I was stuck there until the buzzer sounded. It was frustrating as hell. The reason that I want to highlight this is; as a white belt, scenarios like this will happen a lot. The main thing is not to let it discourage you too much. This is part of the learning process, accept it, and ask your instructor for some advice on the particular position.

Another thing that I would like to add when this happens is; don’t start going full bore, flailing your arms and legs, and trying to explode out of the position. I think it’s safe to say that at the beginning we’ve all panicked in a bad position, and tried to escape like our lives depended on it. But, don’t start going hectic, as if Jeffrey Dahmer is on top of you, and just stay calm while trying to work the technique. If you’re getting the technique right it will work.

Keep training.

 

